Case TS-EF90632E24 Sept 2026StudyCompound claim

A study by Long, Tara, Casella, Mark, and Roizen (Children's Hospital of Philadelphia/UPenn Perelman School of Medicine) found that high-dose dietary vitamin D allocates surplus calories to muscle and growth instead of fat, via modulation of myostatin and leptin signaling

Plain restatementResearchers at CHOP and Penn reported that increasing dietary vitamin D to a high dose shifted excess calories toward lean mass and linear growth rather than fat storage, with lower myostatin and increased leptin production/sensitivity as the proposed mechanism. The post does not state the species studied or the publication status of the work.

Partially accurate but misleadingConfidence High
What this verdict means →

The study being cited is real. Researchers at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and the University of Pennsylvania did write a paper with exactly that title, and it does report that high-dose vitamin D shifted calories toward muscle and growth rather than fat, through myostatin and leptin. Two things the post leaves out matter a lot. First, the experiments were done in mice, not people. Second, the paper is a preprint that has not passed peer review; it was posted in 2022 and again in 2024, and it is still listed as under review. The comparison group in the study was fed zero vitamin D and made severely deficient, so much of the benefit reflects fixing a deficiency rather than a special effect of megadosing. Published human randomized trials of vitamin D supplements have generally found no significant change in fat mass or lean mass, and at most a small strength benefit in people who started out deficient. The finding is interesting and worth watching, but it is not established human science and should not be read as evidence that high-dose vitamin D supplements will change your body composition.

The drift / as claimed vs as evidenced

[drifted from the evidence:] A study by Long, Tara, Casella, Mark, and [drifted from the evidence:] Roizen (Children's Hospital of Philadelphia/UPenn Perelman School of Medicine) found that [drifted from the evidence:] high-dose dietary vitamin D [drifted from the evidence:] allocates surplus calories to [drifted from the evidence:] muscle and growth [drifted from the evidence:] instead of fat, [drifted from the evidence:] via modulation of myostatin and leptin [drifted from the evidence:] signaling


[added by the neutral restatement:] Researchers at CHOP and [added by the neutral restatement:] Penn reported that [added by the neutral restatement:] increasing dietary vitamin D to [added by the neutral restatement:] a high dose shifted excess calories toward lean mass and [added by the neutral restatement:] linear growth [added by the neutral restatement:] rather than fat [added by the neutral restatement:] storage, with lower myostatin and [added by the neutral restatement:] increased leptin [added by the neutral restatement:] production/sensitivity as the proposed mechanism. The post does not state the species studied or the publication status of the work.

Red-tinted words in the claim drifted from the evidence. Green-tinted words are what a neutral restatement needs.

The trace / claim to source

Where it appeared
Submitted image
Tertiary source
PubMed / PMC record of the 2024 version, indexed under the NIH-funded preprint pilot and explicitly labeled "[Preprint]"
Secondary sourceinstitutional
Penn Perelman faculty listing for Jeffrey Roizen, which lists the work with the Research Square/preprint citation
Primary sourcepreprint, not peer reviewed
Long C, Tara Z, Casella A, Mark J, Roizen JD. "High dose dietary vitamin D allocates surplus calories to muscle and growth instead of fat via modulation of myostatin and leptin signaling." bioRxiv preprint, posted 20 May 2022
Primary sourcepreprint, not peer reviewed
Roizen JD, Long C, Casella A, Nguyen M, Danahy L, Seiler C, Lei M, Mark J. Same title. Research Square preprint, posted 8 May 2024, doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-4202165/v1, listed as "Under Review"
Primary sourcepeer reviewed
Pathak K et al., "Vitamin D supplementation and body weight status: systematic review and meta-analysis of RCTs," Obesity Reviews 2014
Primary sourcepeer reviewed
Beaudart C et al., systematic review and meta-analysis of 30 RCTs on vitamin D and skeletal muscle strength, mass and power
Primary sourcepeer reviewed
Vitamin D supplementation and body fat mass: systematic review and meta-analysis, Eur J Clin Nutr 2018
● Primary source found
What is true
  • The study exists, and the quoted title is verbatim.
  • The named authors, co-first authorship designation, and institutional affiliations are accurate for the 2022 version.
  • The paper does report that high-dose dietary vitamin D increased lean mass and linear growth and decreased fat mass without changing body weight.
  • The paper does propose myostatin and leptin signaling as the mechanism, consistent with the claim's phrasing.
  • The image of a hyper-muscled Belgian Blue-type animal is a legitimate visual reference for myostatin deficiency, which is the real cause of that phenotype.
What is misleading
  • Species extrapolation by omission. The slide presents the finding with no indication that the experiments were in mice. A reader encountering the title plus a myostatin chart has no cue that these are rodent results. Whether later slides in the nine-slide post disclose this is unknown, but the claim as recorded does not.
  • Evidence-status omission. The work is an unreviewed preprint from 2022, reposted in 2024 and still listed as under review. Presenting it as "a study found" without that qualifier overstates its standing. Its presence in PubMed can be mistaken for journal publication.
  • Omitted qualifier on the comparison. The "low-D" group was fed zero vitamin D and reached serum levels under 5 ng/mL. Much of the reported benefit is a deficiency-to-sufficiency effect, which is a different claim from "high dose vitamin D builds muscle."
  • Chart over-reading risk. The slide shows myostatin across low-D, normal-D and high-D with asterisks. In the 2022 text the authors state high-D did not significantly lower serum myostatin beyond normal-D. A viewer is likely to read the figure as showing a dose-dependent high-dose advantage that the serum data alone do not establish.
  • Dose translation. "High dose" in this study means 10,000 IU per kilogram of mouse chow, not 10,000 IU per day for a person. Nothing in the claim supports a human supplement dose.
  • Commercial framing. The caption is a sales funnel for coaching and a newsletter. This does not make the claim false, but the study is being deployed as promotional material for fat-loss and muscle-growth services, which is exactly the inferential leap the underlying evidence does not support.
What is uncertain
  • Whether slides 2 through 9 of the post disclose that the subjects were mice or that the paper is a preprint. Only slide 1 was available.
  • Whether a peer-reviewed journal version has appeared since. I found no such version, and citing reviews still reference it as a preprint, but I could not exhaustively check the most recent months.
  • The precise sample sizes per experimental group. The methods indicate housing of five mice per cage, but group n values and effect sizes with confidence intervals were not retrievable from the search results.
  • The extent of any zebrafish or human data within the paper. A single human growth observation is referenced, but I could not confirm its full scope.
Evidence summary

The study is real. The title quoted on the slide is the exact title of the paper, the author list matches the 2022 version (Caela Long and Zahra Tara as co-first authors), and the affiliation is correctly given as The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine. The work is a preprint. It was first posted to bioRxiv in May 2022 and re-posted in revised form on Research Square in May 2024, where it is marked as not peer reviewed and under review. Its appearance in PubMed and PMC is via the NIH preprint pilot, not because a journal published it. I found no evidence of a peer-reviewed journal version. A 2024 review article citing it lists it as "Res Sq (Preprint)." The experiments were done in mice. The methods describe 12-week-old male wild-type C57BL/6J mice fed defined vitamin D receptor knockout rescue chow at three vitamin D levels: 0 IU/kg (low), 2000 IU/kg (normal) and 10,000 IU/kg (high), housed five per cage. The authors report that normal dietary vitamin D increased strength over low vitamin D without changing lean mass, that high-dose vitamin D increased strength further, increased lean mass and decreased fat mass without changing body weight, increased fat-free-mass-adjusted energy expenditure without changing food intake, and increased linear growth. They describe this as vitamin D redistributing calories from fat to muscle. On mechanism, the paper reports that replenishing vitamin D from low to normal decreased serum myostatin and increased leptin produced per unit fat mass, while high-dose vitamin D increased leptin sensitivity without significantly changing leptin production per fat mass. Separately, human randomized trial evidence does not currently show this effect. A meta-analysis of RCTs found vitamin D supplementation did not significantly change body weight, fat mass, percent fat mass or lean body mass. A meta-analysis of 30 RCTs found a small positive effect on global muscle strength but no effect on muscle mass or power, with effects concentrated in people starting below roughly 30 nmol/L.

Complete reasoning
The study, its title, its authors and its institutional affiliation all check out exactly as stated, and the paper genuinely concludes what the claim says it concludes. The distortion is not in the wording but in what is left out: these are mouse experiments in a preprint that has not been peer reviewed, the comparison baseline was total vitamin D deprivation, and the mouse dietary doses do not translate to human supplement doses. Published human randomized trials do not show vitamin D supplementation changing fat mass or lean mass. Confidence is High because primary sources were located and directly compared against the claim; the remaining uncertainty concerns unseen slides and precise statistics, not the core finding.
Use this case

The reply receipt is formatted for pasting into the thread where the claim is circulating.

Compact share page: verify.trueseeker.com/s/ef90632e2c59/tjncIZOB1WcCo7acQ9qi56C

Similar cases on record

Partially accurate but misleading: Researchers at CHOP and Penn reported that increasing dietary vitamin D to a high dose shi… | TrueSeeker