Finance
“Paying off debts in order of highest interest rate first (the avalanche method) rather than smallest balance first (the snowball method) results in paying less total interest, and on a real credit-card-heavy debt setup can save $1,900 to $3,500 compared to paying off smallest balances first." Supporting post text includes "Most people…”
Plain restatementAllocating funds above minimum payments to the highest-APR debt first produces lower total interest than allocating them to the smallest-balance debt first. A credit-card-heavy debt set will produce $1,900 to $3,500 of interest savings from this ordering choice. The average US credit card APR exceeds 21%.
Distortion code this site does not recognise yet: jurisdiction_transfer. Not collectible until the field guide has an entry.
The post frames this as advice; the claim behind it is that highest-APR-first repayment produces less total interest than smallest-balance-first, and that the gap on a credit-card-heavy debt set is $1,900 to $3,500. The first half checks out. Peer-reviewed economics research confirms that, with the payment budget held constant, sending surplus money to the highest-rate debt first is the interest-minimizing order, and the post's "21%+ average credit-card APR" matches the Federal Reserve's own series as of the second quarter of 2026. The second half does not check out. No study, dataset, or calculator that produces the $1,900 to $3,500 range could be located, and the post states none of the four inputs that determine it: balances, rates, extra payment, and time horizon. Running the arithmetic across realistic setups, the same choice produced anywhere from zero to over seven thousand dollars, and it produced exactly zero whenever the smallest balance already carried the highest rate. The published research puts the average household's cost of smallest-balance-first at an extra 1.8% to 4.3% of interest, not thousands of dollars, and separate published research finds that paying smallest balances first is associated with higher motivation and higher rates of clearing debt entirely, a trade-off the post omits. The verdict is partially accurate but misleading: the mechanism is real, the headline dollar figure is unsourced and far less general than presented. General information only, not financial advice.
[drifted from the evidence:] Paying off debts in order of highest interest rate first (the [drifted from the evidence:] avalanche method) rather than smallest balance first [drifted from the evidence:] (the snowball method) results in paying less total interest, [drifted from the evidence:] and on a [drifted from the evidence:] real credit-card-heavy debt [drifted from the evidence:] setup can save $1,900 to $3,500 [drifted from the evidence:] compared to paying off smallest balances first." Supporting post text includes "Most people pay off their smallest debt first. That one choice can cost you thousands in interest," [drifted from the evidence:] "21%+ average [drifted from the evidence:] credit-card APR," [drifted from the evidence:] and "Debt under about 6%? Paying the minimum and investing the extra can leave you further ahead.
[added by the neutral restatement:] Allocating funds above minimum payments to the [added by the neutral restatement:] highest-APR debt first [added by the neutral restatement:] produces lower total interest [added by the neutral restatement:] than allocating them to the smallest-balance debt first. A credit-card-heavy debt [added by the neutral restatement:] set will produce $1,900 to $3,500 [added by the neutral restatement:] of interest [added by the neutral restatement:] savings from this ordering choice. The average [added by the neutral restatement:] US credit card APR [added by the neutral restatement:] exceeds 21%.
Red-tinted words in the claim drifted from the evidence. Green-tinted words are what a neutral restatement needs.
The trace / claim to source
- The arithmetic premise holds. With the payment budget held constant, directing surplus to the highest APR minimizes total interest. This is confirmed in peer-reviewed economics literature, not merely in lender marketing content.
- The "roll each cleared payment forward" mechanic described in slide 04 is the standard construction of both methods and is correctly described.
- "Cover every minimum payment first" as the precondition is correct and is the assumption under which both methods are defined.
- The 21%-plus APR figure is supported for the United States as of Q2 2026, at 22.15% for accounts actually accruing interest and 20.94% across all accounts.
- Snowball ordering does impose a real, measurable, aggregate financial cost. Hamilton puts it at $46.2 billion to $53.9 billion in excess interest in aggregate.
- The post's hedging language is sometimes careful. "Can save" and "can leave you further ahead" are conditional rather than absolute.
- Omitted qualifier: the post states $1,900 to $3,500 with no balances, no APRs, no extra-payment amount, and no time horizon. Those four inputs determine the answer entirely. In my own arithmetic check the same choice produced anywhere from $0 to over $7,000. A dollar range with none of its assumptions disclosed cannot be checked by the reader and cannot be reproduced.
- Omitted qualifier: the claim holds only if the borrower sustains the plan to completion. The post removes this condition and presents smallest-balance-first as nothing but a feeling. Published research reports the opposite of that framing, finding that concentrating repayment into the smallest accounts raises motivation and repayment aggressiveness, and Kellogg researchers found higher rates of eliminating overall debt under that approach. A method that is arithmetically optimal but abandoned in month eight does not deliver the arithmetic.
- Exaggeration: "That one choice can cost you thousands in interest" is presented as the general case. The peer-reviewed estimate for the average household is an extra 1.8% to 4.3% of interest, not thousands of dollars. The post's headline range corresponds to an upper-tail debt structure, specifically one where large balances happen to carry the highest rates, presented as what happens on "a real credit-card-heavy debt setup."
- Jurisdiction transfer: the "21%+ average credit-card APR" is a United States Federal Reserve series presented with no country named, on a global platform. Card APRs, and the tax treatment behind the "under about 6%, invest instead" exception, differ materially by country.
- The post also omits that the two methods produce identical results whenever the smallest balance already carries the highest rate, which is a common configuration and one in which the entire premise of the post produces zero savings. This is not a distortion type from the standard list, but it is a material omission from a post whose whole proposition is that ordering matters.
- The origin of the $1,900 to $3,500 range. Three distinct search strategies, including an exact-figure search, surfaced no study, calculator, or dataset producing it. One unrelated calculator page cites an approximate $3,500 figure for a different comparison (avalanche versus proportional payment, not versus snowball), which is not the comparison the post makes.
- Whether the post's figure was derived from a specific worked example the creator did not publish, or was estimated. The post cites no source.
- The premise behind slide 09 (debt under about 6%, invest the difference). Whether investing beats paying down a sub-6% debt depends on realized returns, which are not known in advance, on the tax treatment of both the interest and the investment gains, and on the borrower's risk tolerance. None of these are stated. The post's "can" hedge is appropriate, but the conditions are not disclosed.
- Hamilton's full-text methodology. I retrieved the published abstract and article record, not the full paper, so the per-household dollar distribution behind the 1.8% to 4.3% range is not verified here.
- I did not retrieve the G.19 numeric table directly. The Q2 2026 rate values come from secondary reporting of that primary release, and the primary release page I retrieved carried the methodology text rather than the figures.
The core ordering premise is confirmed by peer-reviewed research. Hamilton states the principle directly: "The interest‐minimizing strategy to paying multiple debts is to make all minimum payments and allocate remaining funds to the debt with the highest interest rate." The paper describes the alternative, allocating remaining funds to the lowest-balance debt, as the Debt Snowball, driven by debt account aversion and by financial advisers. Hamilton also quantifies the cost, and the quantification does not match the post's framing. Using the 2016 Survey of Consumer Finances, the paper finds the average household following the Debt Snowball pays an additional 1.8% to 4.3% in interest, an aggregate transfer from borrowers to lenders of between $46.2 billion and $53.9 billion above what interest-minimizing repayment would produce. The penalty is larger for low-income households, Black households, and households holding more separate debts. The post's APR figure is supported for the United States. Secondary reporting of the Federal Reserve's G.19 release states that the average APR for cards accruing interest rose to 22.15% in Q2 2026, up from 21.52% in Q1 2026, and that the average APR across all accounts was 20.94% in Q2 2026, down slightly from 21.00% in Q1 2026. The G.19 itself defines these as two distinct series: the rate for all accounts is the stated APR averaged across all accounts, while the rate for accounts assessed interest is the annualized ratio of total finance charges to total average daily balances against which finance charges were assessed. The post presents smallest-balance-first as purely emotional. Published research finds a measurable behavioral effect. Kettle and colleagues report that concentrated repayment strategies tend to boost motivation to become debt free and lead consumers to repay more aggressively, and that the effect is most pronounced when repayments are concentrated into the smallest accounts, because consumers infer overall progress from the greatest proportional balance reduction within any one account. Kellogg researchers reported that people with large credit card balances are more likely to eliminate their overall debt when they focus first on the smallest balances, even where that is not the best economic outcome. Hamilton acknowledges the same tension, noting that quick victories may help strengthen the resolve of households that struggle with debt. Explainer sources agree on direction but not magnitude. Chase states the avalanche method typically saves borrowers more on interest than the snowball method. Britannica states the avalanche method will minimize the total amount paid in interest. Experian's own worked example produced a case where the difference between methods was small and ran the other way on savings in that particular configuration, which illustrates how configuration-dependent the dollar gap is.
Complete reasoning
The reply is formatted for pasting into the thread where the claim is circulating.
Compact share page: finance.trueseeker.com/s/9f628f960543/7EIX5cPli6O44kQfiJHENZ
Ask this case
Answers come only from the case file above; nothing is added.
Is it actually true that paying off the highest-interest debt first saves money?
Yes. Peer-reviewed research confirms that if the payment amount is held constant, sending extra money to the highest-interest debt first results in the least total interest paid. This part of the claim checks out.
Where does the $1,900 to $3,500 savings figure come from?
The case file could not locate any study, dataset, or calculator that produces this range. The post does not state the balances, interest rates, extra payment amount, or time horizon needed to check or reproduce it, so the figure cannot be verified.
Is 'thousands of dollars' in extra interest a typical result of paying smallest balances first?
No. Published research using the 2016 Survey of Consumer Finances found the average household following the smallest-balance-first method pays an extra 1.8% to 4.3% in interest, not thousands of dollars. The thousands-of-dollars figure would only apply to specific upper-tail debt setups, not the typical case.
Does paying smallest balances first have any benefit the post leaves out?
Yes. Research found that concentrating payments on the smallest balances tends to boost motivation and lead people to repay more aggressively, and is associated with higher rates of eliminating debt entirely. The post presents smallest-balance-first as driven purely by emotion and omits this finding.
Is the '21%+ average credit-card APR' figure accurate?
It matches Federal Reserve data for the United States as of the second quarter of 2026, which put the rate at 22.15% for accounts accruing interest and 20.94% across all accounts. However, the post does not name the United States, so on a global platform this figure could be mistaken for a general or worldwide statistic.