Case TS-8224D35210 Oct 2026MixedCompound claim

Beauty

“L'Oréal's 'Keratin Alpha Sleek' serum (Serie Expert) contains no actual keratin; the name refers to the hair structure it targets, not a keratin ingredient, and the 5% figure refers to a 'Keratin-Alpha Sealer' rather than keratin protein content." (Post caption: "Keratin in the name. Zero keratin in the formula.")”

Plain restatementThe L'Oréal Professionnel Serie Expert Keratin Alpha Sleek (Mirror Sleek) Serum has no keratin or keratin derivative on its ingredient list. The word "keratin" in the product name refers to the hair's own keratin structure, which the product is described as acting on, rather than to an ingredient in the bottle. The advertised "5%" refers to a branded complex called a keratin sealer, not to a 5% content of keratin protein.

Mostly accurateConfidence Medium
What this verdict means →

This post is mostly accurate. L'Oréal's own published ingredient list for the Keratin Alpha Sleek Mirror Sleek Serum has seven items, and keratin is not one of them. The first three are silicones and the rest are fragrance and fragrance allergen components. L'Oréal states in its own product material that the serum does not contain keratin, and describes the product as sealing the hair's own keratin structure, which is what the "keratin alpha" in the name refers to. The advertised "5%" is the brand's figure for a complex it calls a Keratin Sealer, not a measure of keratin protein, and the amount of each silicone is not disclosed. The post slightly misnames that complex, calling it a "Keratin-Alpha Sealer", which does not change its point. What remains unclear is what the 5% complex is made of, and whether the "up to 10 washes" figure was measured using the serum on its own or the full product routine, since the brand's testing footnotes refer to a multi-product routine and that testing has not been published or independently repeated.

The drift / as claimed vs as evidenced

[drifted from the evidence:] L'Oréal's 'Keratin Alpha Sleek' serum [drifted from the evidence:] (Serie Expert) contains no [drifted from the evidence:] actual keratin; the name refers to the [drifted from the evidence:] hair structure it targets, not a keratin ingredient, [drifted from the evidence:] and the 5% [drifted from the evidence:] figure refers to a [drifted from the evidence:] 'Keratin-Alpha Sealer' rather than keratin [drifted from the evidence:] protein content." [drifted from the evidence:] (Post caption: "Keratin in the name. Zero keratin [drifted from the evidence:] in the formula.")


[added by the neutral restatement:] The L'Oréal Professionnel Serie Expert Keratin Alpha Sleek [added by the neutral restatement:] (Mirror Sleek) Serum [added by the neutral restatement:] has no keratin [added by the neutral restatement:] or keratin derivative on its ingredient list. The [added by the neutral restatement:] word "keratin" in the product name refers to the [added by the neutral restatement:] hair's own keratin [added by the neutral restatement:] structure, which the product is described as acting on, rather than to an ingredient [added by the neutral restatement:] in the [added by the neutral restatement:] bottle. The advertised "5%" refers to a [added by the neutral restatement:] branded complex called a keratin [added by the neutral restatement:] sealer, not to a 5% content [added by the neutral restatement:] of keratin [added by the neutral restatement:] protein.

Red-tinted words in the claim drifted from the evidence. Green-tinted words are what a neutral restatement needs.

The trace / claim to source

Where it appeared
▲ Exaggeration
A real finding gets inflated: stronger, bigger, faster, or more certain than the evidence supports.
Secondary sourceretail
Retailer reproductions of the brand's official copy carrying the full disclosure sentence and INCI
Primary sourcebrand responsible-person source
L'Oréal Professionnel US official product page, full INCI list for Keratin Alpha Sleek Mirror Sleek Serum
Primary sourcebrand
L'Oréal Professionnel international product and range pages, "5% Keratin Sealer", claim footnotes, and the keratin statement
Primary sourceEU Commission
Commission Regulation (EU) No 655/2013 and its Commission guidelines, common criteria for cosmetic claims
Primary sourceUSPTO published patents
US patent literature describing alpha-keratin as the helical structural protein of hair
● Primary source found
What is true
  • The manufacturer's published ingredient list for this serum contains no keratin and no keratin derivative. The seven listed ingredients are three silicone materials, fragrance, and three fragrance allergen components.
  • L'Oréal itself states that this product does not contain keratin. The statement appears in the brand's own range material and in retailer pages reproducing brand copy, so the post's "L'Oréal confirms" is supported.
  • The "5%" figure in the brand's copy is attached to a complex the brand calls a Keratin Sealer. It is not presented by the brand as 5% keratin protein, and since the product contains no keratin, it cannot be a keratin content figure.
  • The name points at the hair's own structure in the brand's own framing: the brand describes the serum as sealing the hair's outer keratin structure, and alpha-keratin is the recognised term for the helical protein that makes up hair.
  • Three silicones lead the ingredient list, which is consistent with a smoothing and conditioning function. Dimethicone is used as a hair-coating emollient and amodimethicone-type silicones are used as conditioning agents.
  • The percentage of each individual silicone is not disclosed on the label. Only the 5% figure for the branded complex is given.
  • The "up to 10 washes" figure is the brand's own and carries an instrumental-test footnote, as the post says.
What is misleading
  • The post reports the figure as "5% Keratin-Alpha Sealer". The brand's wording for this serum is "5% Keratin Sealer"; "Keratin-Alpha Shaper" is the term used for other products in the range. This is a small naming slip that does not change the substance of the point.
  • Nothing else in the post's checkable core overstates the sources. The caption "Zero keratin in the formula" matches the manufacturer's own statement rather than exceeding it.
What is uncertain
  • What the "Keratin Sealer" complex actually consists of is not disclosed by the manufacturer. It is plausibly one or more of the listed silicone materials, but no source located states its composition, so the post's reading of the 5% as a non-keratin complex is correct while the complex itself remains unspecified.
  • Whether the "up to 10 washes" figure was measured on the serum alone or on the full routine is not consistently stated. Some brand footnotes specify four applications of shampoo plus Smooth Transformer plus serum, which is a routine-level condition rather than a serum-alone one.
  • No independent, peer-reviewed or regulator testing of this product's performance claims was located. The durability and smoothness figures rest on manufacturer instrumental testing that has not been published in full.
  • Whether formulations are identical in every market was not established. The US and international brand listings carry the same seven-ingredient list, but market-specific variants were not exhaustively checked.
  • Whether a product name containing "Keratin" for a keratin-free product satisfies the EU common criteria for claims has not been tested by any regulator decision located for this product. The post makes no legality allegation, so this does not bear on the verdict.
Evidence summary

The manufacturer's own ingredient list for this serum has seven entries: DIMETHICONE, BIS-(MORPHOLINOMETHYL C1-4 DIALKOXYSILOXY) DIMETHICONE, BIS-CETEARYL AMODIMETHICONE, PARFUM / FRAGRANCE, LINALOOL, CITRONELLOL, GERANIOL. No keratin, hydrolyzed keratin or keratin amino acid appears on it. The first three entries are all silicone materials, and the last three are declared fragrance allergen components. The brand states the marketing figure as a complex, not a protein level: "Formulated with 5% Keratin Sealer, this serum seals the hair structure for smoothness, frizz, and volume control that lasts up to 10 washes." The brand's own range copy carries the explicit statement that keratin is an animal-derived ingredient also found in human hair, and retailer pages reproducing L'Oréal's copy for this serum carry the sentence "Keratin is an animal-derived ingredient, also found in human hair. This product does not contain Keratin." alongside the same INCI list. A second retailer carrying L'Oréal copy reproduces "This product does not contain keratin. *Instrumental tests. Instrumental test with a routine of 4 applications of Shampoo + Smooth Transformer + Mirror Sleek Serum." On what the name points at, the brand describes the action as being on the hair's own keratin: the serum "seals hair outer keratin structure for up to 10 washes", and range copy for the companion product describes smoothing at the keratin alpha level, described as the deepest level of hair. In the scientific literature, alpha-keratin is described as an alpha-helical fibrous protein found in mammals, birds and reptiles, and the primary component of hair, horn, nail and the epidermal layer of skin. So "keratin alpha" is a real structural term for hair protein, consistent with the brand's stated framing. On the durability figure, the brand attaches an instrumental-test footnote: "*Instrumental tests Instrumental test after 4 applications of Keratin Alpha Sleek Shampoo + Smooth Transformer + Serum." Several headline performance figures are therefore measured on the full routine rather than the serum alone. On rules, the EU instrument governing cosmetic claims applies to names as well as text: Regulation (EU) No 655/2013 applies to claims in the form of texts, names, trademarks, pictures and other signs that convey product characteristics or functions, in labelling, marketing and advertising, and the Commission's guidance addresses the situation where a product claims to contain a specific ingredient. No regulator finding about this specific product was located, and the post does not allege illegality.

Complete reasoning
Every load-bearing part of the claim checks out against the manufacturer's own primary material: the published INCI list has no keratin in it, L'Oréal's own copy states the product does not contain keratin, the brand's own description places the action on the hair's keratin structure, and the 5% is the brand's figure for a complex rather than a protein content. I considered "Accurate" and rejected it only because the post names the complex "Keratin-Alpha Sealer" where the brand's term for this serum is "Keratin Sealer", a detail simplification that does not change the meaning. I considered "Partially accurate but misleading" and rejected it: there is no hazard presented as risk, no ingredient evidence used to decide a product's harm, and no overstatement of the testing, since the post itself flags the 10-washes figure as an instrumental test result rather than a guarantee. I considered "False" and "Unverified" and rejected both, because the primary record directly supports the claim. Confidence is held at Medium rather than High because the claim contains a label-interpretation element and names no jurisdiction, because the composition of the 5% complex is undisclosed, and because all performance evidence behind the product is manufacturer-run and unpublished. No harm verdict is issued here and none is implied: a product containing no keratin is a composition fact, not a safety finding.
Use this case

The reply is formatted for pasting into the thread where the claim is circulating.

Compact share page: beauty.trueseeker.com/s/8224d3523cdf/TIAb-ief-k2vPp2BXAKYceD

Ask this case

Answers come only from the case file above; nothing is added.

Does this L'Oréal serum actually contain keratin?

No. The manufacturer's own published ingredient list has seven entries, three silicones and three fragrance allergen components plus fragrance, and keratin does not appear on it.

Then why does the product name include the word keratin?

According to the brand's own framing, the name refers to the hair's own keratin structure that the serum is designed to seal, not to a keratin ingredient in the bottle. Alpha-keratin is a recognized scientific term for the structural protein that makes up hair.

What does the advertised '5%' figure actually measure?

The brand attaches the 5% figure to a branded complex it calls a Keratin Sealer, not to keratin protein content. Since the product contains no keratin, this figure cannot represent keratin content.

Is the 'up to 10 washes' durability claim reliable?

The claim comes from the brand's own instrumental testing, and some footnotes indicate it was measured using a full routine of shampoo, Smooth Transformer, and serum together rather than the serum alone. No independent or regulator testing of this claim was found.

What exactly is in the 'Keratin Sealer' complex if it isn't keratin?

The investigation did not establish what the Keratin Sealer complex is made of. It is plausibly one or more of the listed silicone ingredients, but no source specifies its exact composition.

Similar cases on record