“In a Spinogenix phase 2a trial of 24 people with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's, the 300 mg tazbentetol (SPG302) treatment group showed an average improvement of more than 2.5 points on the SMMSE cognitive assessment compared with placebo within four weeks”
Plain restatementA company-sponsored phase 2a trial (n=24) in mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease reported that participants receiving 300 mg tazbentetol scored, on average, more than 2.5 points higher on the standardized Mini-Mental State Examination than placebo participants after four weeks.
This one checks out as a description of what the company reported. Spinogenix did run a phase 2a trial in Australia with 24 people who had mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's, and in December 2025 it reported that the 300 mg group scored more than 2.5 points higher on the standardized Mini-Mental State Exam than placebo after four weeks. The July 2026 follow-up press release and the 72-year-old case study described in the post are also real. The important context the post leaves out is scale and status: the 300 mg comparison involved roughly eight or nine people on the drug versus about four on placebo, the results have not been published in a peer-reviewed journal, another key measure in the same trial was not statistically significant, and the lower 150 mg dose reportedly showed no clinical effect. The 84-week follow-up had no placebo group, so improvement over time cannot be separated from expectancy, repeated-testing effects, or the fact that patients doing poorly tend to drop out. The headline on the image, saying the drug "restored memory," goes well beyond what a small group-level score difference can show. This is an early signal worth watching, not a demonstrated treatment, and only a larger controlled trial can settle it.
[drifted from the evidence:] In a [drifted from the evidence:] Spinogenix phase 2a trial [drifted from the evidence:] of 24 people with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's, [drifted from the evidence:] the 300 mg tazbentetol [drifted from the evidence:] (SPG302) treatment group showed an average [drifted from the evidence:] improvement of more than 2.5 points on the [drifted from the evidence:] SMMSE cognitive assessment compared with placebo [drifted from the evidence:] within four weeks
A [added by the neutral restatement:] company-sponsored phase 2a trial [added by the neutral restatement:] (n=24) in mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's [added by the neutral restatement:] disease reported that participants receiving 300 mg tazbentetol [added by the neutral restatement:] scored, on average, more than 2.5 points [added by the neutral restatement:] higher on the [added by the neutral restatement:] standardized Mini-Mental State Examination than placebo [added by the neutral restatement:] participants after four weeks.
Red-tinted words in the claim drifted from the evidence. Green-tinted words are what a neutral restatement needs.
The trace / claim to source
- The trial exists and is registered (NCT06427668).
- The total enrollment figure of 24 people with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's is correct.
- The 300 mg dose attribution is correct. The company's topline release was specifically for the 300 mg dose.
- The ">2.5 points on SMMSE versus placebo within four weeks" figure is reproduced accurately from the source, including the placebo comparator and the four-week timeframe.
- The company reported p < 0.05 for this comparison.
- The July 2026 84-week follow-up press release exists and says what the post says it says.
- The 72-year-old caregiver case study is accurately described.
- The post's caption does include real caveats: it states the findings are preliminary, company-reported, from a small study, that the extended follow-up had no placebo group, and that larger controlled trials are needed.
- Exaggeration (image headline): "A new drug restored memory in alzheimer's patients in just 4 weeks!" overstates the evidence. A group-level MMSE difference of 2.5 points in a handful of patients is not demonstrated memory restoration. The MMSE is a 30-point global screening instrument, not a memory test. This headline is the part of the post most likely to be seen and shared.
- Omitted qualifier (scale of the evidence): the claim says "24 people," which sounds larger than the actual comparison. The 300 mg result derives from roughly 8 or 9 drug patients versus roughly 4 placebo patients. At that size, a 2.5 point difference can easily be driven by one or two individuals, and a nominal p < 0.05 in a small exploratory trial with multiple endpoints carries limited weight.
- Omitted qualifier (evidence status): the finding comes from a company press release and conference presentation, not a peer-reviewed publication with full data, confidence intervals, or independent review. Neither the claim nor the on-image text says this. The caption says "company-reported" but does not say unpublished or non-peer-reviewed.
- Selective reporting: the same trial's CDR-SB result at four weeks was not statistically significant, and the 150 mg dose reportedly showed no clinical effect. Neither is mentioned. A drug that works at one dose but not a nearby dose is a signal that warrants caution, not confidence.
- Temporal overreach (secondary claim): presenting an uncontrolled compassionate use extension at 84 weeks as evidence of durable benefit. Without a control arm, expectancy effects, practice effects on repeated MMSE testing, and survivor bias (only patients doing well tend to stay on treatment) cannot be excluded.
- Anecdote presented as outcome: the 72-year-old case is a caregiver-reported single case selected by the sponsor for presentation. It is illustrative, not evidence of efficacy.
- Commercial context: the caption pivots to a supplement affiliate link in the account bio. The Alzheimer's research news functions partly as an audience hook for an unrelated commercial offer.
- The exact number of participants in the 300 mg drug and placebo arms at week 4. Sources report cohort 1 as either 12 or 13 patients; the precise split was not found in any public document.
- Whether the ">2.5" difference reflects improvement in the treated group, decline in the placebo group, or both. Baseline and endpoint means by arm were not located.
- Confidence intervals, effect size precision, and the statistical model used. Not disclosed publicly.
- Whether the p < 0.05 was adjusted for multiple comparisons across the several primary endpoints listed. Not disclosed.
- How many patients contributed to the 84-week group data. The press release says "some patients" without a number.
- Whether full phase 2a results have since been peer-reviewed. I found no such publication.
The specific number in the claim traces to a real, identifiable source and is reproduced faithfully. Spinogenix's December 8, 2025 press release, reporting topline results for the 300 mg dose presented at the CTAD conference on December 4, 2025, states a greater than 2.5 point average increase in SMMSE within four weeks versus placebo, with p < 0.05. The Alzheimer's Drug Discovery Foundation's independent Cognitive Vitality report repeats this same figure and attributes it to the same press release. Clinical Trials Arena independently reported that patients on the high (300 mg) dose showed the greater than 2.5 point SMMSE advantage over placebo within four weeks. The trial's lead investigator, neurologist Bruce Brew, described the week-4 MMSE improvement of around 2.5-plus points as "quite dramatic" in a June 2026 interview. The trial (NCT06427668) is real: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 2a study in Australia enrolling 24 patients with mild-to-moderate AD (MMSE 16-26), randomized 2:1 to active drug or placebo across two dose cohorts (150 mg and 300 mg), beginning with a four-week placebo-controlled period followed by a 24-week open-label extension, with an option to continue a further 52 weeks at 300 mg. The July 2026 follow-up is also real. Spinogenix announced on July 14, 2026 extended data from patients who continued under a compassionate use Special Access Scheme, stating that group SMMSE data support continued benefit beyond one year, with some patients remaining improved over baseline at 84 weeks. The 72-year-old case study is accurately described: NeurologyLive reports her caregiver observed regained ability to read books, follow movies, and recall storylines within three months of starting 300 mg, alongside a 4 to 6 point SMMSE increase and a 2.5 point CDR-SB decrease, with SMMSE remaining above baseline at her most recent visit at 81 weeks.
Complete reasoning
The reply receipt is formatted for pasting into the thread where the claim is circulating.
Compact share page: verify.trueseeker.com/s/0845430516dc/H1ilOGG5E18VMiUE7ifCneX
Ask this case
Answers come only from the case file above; nothing is added.
Is it true that the 300 mg dose improved SMMSE scores by more than 2.5 points compared with placebo?
Yes. This is accurately reproduced from Spinogenix's December 2025 press release, which reported this exact figure for the 300 mg group within four weeks, with p < 0.05.
How many people were actually in the 300 mg and placebo groups being compared?
The trial had 24 total participants, but the 300 mg comparison involved roughly 8 or 9 people on the drug versus about 4 on placebo. The case file notes the exact split was not found in any public document.
Has this result been confirmed by independent, peer-reviewed research?
No. The finding comes from a company press release and conference presentation. The investigation found no peer-reviewed publication of the full phase 2a results.
Did the drug work on other measures or at the lower dose?
No. The same trial's CDR-SB result at four weeks was not statistically significant, and the 150 mg dose reportedly showed no clinical effect.
Does this mean the drug restores memory in Alzheimer's patients?
No, that claim overstates the evidence. The SMMSE is a general cognitive screening tool, not a memory test, and a group-level score difference in a handful of patients does not demonstrate memory restoration.